Family Devotions that Work

I’ve been a dad for 11 years. During that time we have struggled to find the best way to do consistent family devotions. This has been a difficult journey for us for a few reasons:

  1. I was determined to create a time my kids didn’t hate. It is a sin to make the bible and prayer boring.
  2. As a recovering legalist I wanted this time to be very beneficial, something we yearned for, rather than one more hoop to add to our pride.
  3. When I commit to something I tend to commit fully, and typically “overdo” it. So I’m prone to make spiritual disciplines too ornate, with too many steps, and too many moving parts. I felt like when we got it right, it would be very simple.

If you have a discipline you intend to follow throughout your life, KEEP IT SIMPLE.

Here is what we do:

  1. About 8:30PM everyone gathers in the living room of our home.
  2. I break out my IPAD and open my ESV study bible app.
  3. We read one chapter (Currently reading Revelation)
  4. I give some insight from the text. Typically, these are things that a mature Christian can gather from a cold reading of the text, no commentary or study work needed.
  5. Others contribute what they see in the text and we may discuss a bit.
  6. We quickly take prayer requests and pray.
  7. Kids sent to bed, tucked in, complete with both mom and dad praying over each kid.

It’s simple, it works, it’s actually fun. It’s a nice conclusion to our day. What do you do to spur your tribe on to love and good deeds? Let us know in the comment section below!